Industry Case Studies Program 2018 – Industry Day (ICSP 2018)

Industry Applications and Standard initiatives for Cooperative Information Systems: The evolving role of Cyber Physical Systems in Industry 4.0 implementation

October, 23th, 2018, Valletta, Malta


Supported by
Object management Group (OMG) (
Industrial Internet Consortium (
IFAC TC 5.3 on “Enterprise Integration and Networking” (

SIG INTEROP Grande-Région on “Enterprise Systems Interoperability” (



sb omg   IIC Logo interop GB 



Call for Contributions


Cooperative Information Systems provide enterprises and communities of users with flexible, scalable and intelligent services in large-scale networking environments. The OTM conference series has established itself as a major international forum for exchanging ideas and results on scientific research for practitioners in fields such as computer supported cooperative work (CSCW), middleware, Internet/Web data management, electronic commerce, workflow management, knowledge flow, agent technologies and software architectures, to name a few.
The recent popularity and interest in service-oriented architectures & domains require capabilities for on-demand composition of services. Furthermore, cloud computing environments are becoming more prevalent, in which information technology resources must be configured to meet user-driven needs. These emerging technologies represent a significant need for highly interoperable systems.


This edition will address a particular set of topics and applications related to Interoperability for Cyber Physical Systems.


As a part of OnTheMove 2018, we are organizing an Industry Case Studies Program. The objective is to take industrial viewpoints to shape the collaboration between research and industry and look at ways to bring the research to market and support future collaboration or project definition. The focus of the program is to facilitate discussions between peers and to enhance research focus on interoperable information systems to enable Industry 4.0 implementation. Other discussion topics include Enterprise transformation, assessment and improvement, architecture development to aid interoperability and infrastructure design.


Industry leaders, standardisation initiatives, European and international projects consortiums are invited to present their ongoing or past projects for follow ups or the involvement of the community as well as discuss about new/immature ideas to brainstorm and build up new projects. Three kinds of submissions are welcomed:

-    Paper-oriented submission: This may discuss industrial experience or academic research and should not exceed 4 pages in the final camera-ready format.
-    Project-oriented submission (abstract): This may present an ongoing project or an innovative idea of a project to build and should not exceed 2 pages in the final camera ready format.
-    Networking-oriented /brainstorming-oriented submission: This may be a presentation of a past or an ongoing project as well as a project idea to discuss.


All submissions will be reviewed by at least three members of the Program Committee, based on their originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of expression. Submissions must be in English. Only electronic submissions in Adobe PDF format are acceptable.

The final proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag as LNCS (Lecture Notes in Computer Science). Author instructions can be found at:





All authors can also benefit from the participation to the panel that will occur at the end of the session.





    Short Paper Submission Deadline        July 31th, 2018
    Acceptance Notification        August 20th, 2018
    Camera Ready Due        August 30th , 2018
    Registration Due        September 1st , 2018
    OTM Conferences        October 22 - 26, 2018
    Updated Camera-ready upload (optional):        December 1st, 2018



For more information, please send a short abstract to the Program Chairs.


Prof. Hervé Panetto, PhD
University of Lorraine, France
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Dr Wided Guédria
Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Mr. Gash Bhullar
Control 2K Limited, UK
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.








The program committee is composed of representatives of industry, standard initiatives and European or international R&D projects



Michael Alexander, IBM, Austria
Sinuhe Arroyo, Taiger USA
Ian Bayley, Model Futures, UK
Gash Bhullar, Control 2K, UK
Serge Boverie, Contiental Engineering Services, France
Christoph Bussler, Oracle Corporation, USA
Ben Calloni, Lockheed Martin, USA
David Cohen, Microsoft, France
Eva Coscia, Holonix, Italy
Tuan Dang, EDF Research, France
Francesco Danza, Digital Video, Italy
Piero De Sabbata, ENEA, Italy
Michael Ditze, TWT Gmbh, Germany
Jacques Durand, Futjisu, USA
Dominique Ernadote, EADS-Cassidian
Kurt Fessl, Industrie Informatik GmbH, Austria
Nicolas Figay, Airbus Group Innovations, France
Fabrizio Gagliardi, Microsoft, Switzerland
Jean-Luc Garnier, Thales Group, France
Pascal Gendre, Airbus, France
Ted Goranson, Sirius Beta, USA
Mattew Hause, ATEGO, USA
Mathias Kohler, SAP, Germany
Antoine Lonjon, MEGA, France
Gottfried Luef, IBM, Austria
Juan-Carlos Mendez, AdN International, Mexico
Silvana Muscella, Trust - IT Services, UK
Yannick Naudet, LIST, Luxemburg
Christoph Niedermeier, Siemens, Germany
Ed Parsons, Google, UK
Andrea Persidis, Biovista, Greece
Daniel Sáez Domingo, ITI, Spain
Joe Salvo, GE, USA
Ayelet Sapir, Pangea, Israel
Stan Schneider, RTI, USA
Mark Schulte, Boeing, USA
Dirk Slama, Bosch, Germany
Georg Weichhart, Profactor GmbH, Austria
Detlef Zühlke, SmartfactoryKL e.V., Germany




Peter Benson, ECCMA
Marc Delbaere, SWIFT, Belgium
Sheron Koshy, ECCMA India
Richard Martin, ISO TC184/SC5
Richard M. Soley, OMG and IIC, USA
Maximiliano Vargas, ASAM Brazil
Martin Zelm, INTEROP Vlab




Vasco Amaral, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
Luis Camarinha-Matos, Uninova, Portugal
Vincent Chapurlat, EMA, France
Michele Dassisti, Politecnico di Bari, Italy
Giuseppe Di Fatta, University of Reading, UK
Giancarlo Fortino, University of Calabria, Italy
Andres Garcia Higuera, University Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Ricardo Goncalves, New University of Lisbon, UNINOVA, Portugal
Peter Gorm Larsen, Aarhus University, Denmark
Qing-Shan Jia, Tsinghua University, P.R. China
Wenchao Li, Boston University, USA
Peter Loos, IWi at DFKI, Saarland University
Eduardo Loures, PUC-PR, Brazil
Arturo Molina, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico
Yasuyuki Nishioka, Hosei University, Japan
Sergio F. Ochoa, University of Chile, Chile
Hervé Panetto, University of Lorraine, France
Sobah Abbas Pertersen, SINTEF, Norway
Jean Simao, UTFPR, Brazil
Hans Vandheluwe, University of Antwerpen, Belgium
Dimitri Varoutas, University of Athens, Greece
François B. Vernadat, Université de Lorraine, France
Paulo Whitman, UTFPR, Brazil
Lawrence Whitman, University of Arkansas at LR, USA
Milan Zdravkovic, University of Nis, Serbia